APPG for Video Games

On Thursday 1st of November 2018, the APPG for Video Games held their AGM.

The AGM commenced with a discussion about the group members roles with Alex Sobel MP taking over from Sharon Hodgson MP as chair and Daniel Zeichner MP, Matt Western Ed Vaizey MP, Scott Mann MP, Sharon Hodgson MP, Chris Law MP and Lord Clement-Jones all agreeing to serve the group as Vice Chairs. The group then explored the topics they’d like to cover over the next 12 months with esports, music, inclusivity and growth all featuring.

Alex Sobel MP thanked Sharon Hodgson MP for her hard work as Chair over the past 12 months noting particular highlights such as our collaboration with other sectors in the creative industries to emphasise the importance of freedom of movement post- Brexit at the ‘Drawn Together’ event in January and the session on Mental Health and Games with Ninja Theory, winner of five Baftas for Hellblade.

Ukie will once again act as secretariat for the APPG and it was agreed that the APPG’s name be changed to the APPG video games and esports building on the hugely successful, first ever Parliamentary event for esports, held just days earlier.

For more information on the work of the APPG for video games and esports and how to get involved please get in touch